Dwight, Sarah, Drew & Alex/David

DwightDwight: I'm proud papa (with Stephanie) to twin boys, Drew and Alex, born in June '02, and I share my life with Sarah F. I'm also a pre-sales engineer for a software company in Newton (which has me traveling about half the time), an amateur radio operator, and a former -- and aspiring -- private pilot. I've had an interest in alternative living situations ever since my college days at the Kent State University Living/Learning Community, part of their Center for Peaceful Change (now the Center for Applied Conflict Management). My biggest hope for cohousing is that its community-building will lead to a more humane existence for us all: a good place in which to raise kids, live life, and grow old. INFP.

SarahSarah: I'm an actuary working for John Hancock. I grew up in Kentucky, but am a happy New England transplant now, living in Mosaic with Dwight, Drew, and Alex. My hobbies are crafts (beading mostly), reading, and creating spreadsheets :-). Someday I also hope to return to playing my violin. Living around other musicians in this community should eventually facilitate that! I went to my first Mosaic Commons meeting in the summer of 2000, and I first learned about cohousing from seeing an announcement about this community, but I have long been interested in intentional community in all its various types. The best part of living in this community is constantly being inspired to better living by learning from my neighbors, and the ability to get out of my house and do fun things without putting forth much effort or time.

Drew says "I like to play on my computer, shoot off model rockets (here in our field), and play with my friends. I am interested in all sorts of science, and history, especially pirates. I like to read non-fiction and fiction books about modern fantasy adventure.

It's really fun to play here all year around, I have lots of friends here. We have snowball fights in the winter, including Snow Wars. In the summer we play Search and Destroy, a mixture of Tag and Hide and Seek. Some people make leaf collections in the fall. We ride our bikes almost all the time. We have beavers and coyotes nearby, and closer we have peepers, bullfrogs, interesting earthworms, snakes, salamanders, woodpeckers, and hawks. It's convenient to have stores so close by."

David says "I am sometimes called Alex. I like playing computer games and playing outside. I like interesting things like shark teeth and swords. I like cartoons, animation, and action (like Pirates of the Caribbean and Journey to the Center of the Earth). I like explosions (like rocket launches), and science with experiments. I have asthma, and I also have nut allergies: peanuts, tree nuts, chick peas, and lentils.

I like living in cohousing. It's fun because you get to be around your friends and family. There's great outdoors, so I get to ride my bike whenever I want, because we have so much property that I can just bike around. It's a great place if your parents are divorced because they can move here and you can switch houses whenever you want."